Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Since I blogged this past Sunday I have been very excited to blog again.  I love writing!  Upon wondering what recipe I should blog about next, my best friend, Jaine, who was with me at the time, exclaimed, “You should do a dessert!”.  So dessert it is!  Now, in my house, the Natives’ and They-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named’s opinions of what should be made carry a lot of weight: I like to make them happy!   So upon consulting with the Natives and They-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named, it was decided that I would make chocolate cupcakes.  Unfortunately, after thoroughly looking around the cupboards, not all the necessary ingredients were found.  So what to do instead?  Well, in my opinion, you can never, EVER go wrong with anything of the chocolate chip cookie kind.  In search to find a new chocolate chip cookie recipe to try, I found a recipe for chocolate chip cookie bars.  Instant win!

This recipe, which comes from the blog “Lil’ Luna”, is a very easy recipe to put together.  I am rather pleased with the results!

 Image

The outside greets you with a heavenly crispness when you first bite into a piece of this cookie wonder, but then offers a deliciously soft and moist inside.  If soft or chewy cookies are your thing, then I recommend giving this recipe a try!

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Start out by creaming 1/2 cup (or 1 stick) of softened, unsalted butter.  You will know when to stop when it looks like this:  peaks sort of form when the beater goes round and round.  I know that originally the recipe instructs you to melt the butter then wait for it to cool before you do anything else, but I don’t have a microwave.  Consequently I have to melt everything on the stove, which 1) takes longer and 2) makes everything get really, really hot.  I didn’t feel like having to wait however long it was going to take for my butter to cool down so that the soon-to-be-added egg wouldn’t cook, so I decided I would just go ahead and cream it.

Image

After creaming the butter, add 1, packed cup of brown sugar.

Image

  Then mix it in!

Image

Next, add 1 egg and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and mix it in.  Set this aside after the egg and vanilla are mixed in.  We will come back to it in a minute.

Image In a separate bowl, combine 1 cup of sifted flour (I used all-purpose flour), 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda.  Go back to your mixer and gradually add the flour mixture to the creamed butter/brown sugar mixture.   When the dough has come together grab a 9 x 9 pan and grease it.  I don’t have a 9 x 9 pan, so I used a 10″ round pan.  It didn’t exactly make cookie “bars”, but it was close enough.  Hey!  Nobody’s perfect. 😛  I also decided to use wax paper instead of greasing the pan.  It turnout out alright so which ever way floats your boat works!  Dump your cookie dough in there.  I recommend dropping large spoonfuls of the dough in different places around the pan.  It would make it easier to spread out.

20140307_170659

Next, sprinkle 3/4 cup of chocolate chips.  You can any kind from white chocolate to dark chocolate.  I pushed the chocolate chips down into the dough lightly.

20140307_171006

Now put it in the oven and bake it for 20 minutes or until golden on top.

20140307_171120

Viola!

20140307_173919 (1)

If you do the cookie in a pan like this, then let it cool down a bit before you attempt to remove it from the pan.  If you used wax paper,  first take the wax paper out of the pan (hold it taunt), then slide the cookie off the wax paper after the cookie has cooled a bit.  If it is a little stuck, use a metal spatula to get it unstuck.

Enjoy!

20140307_182144

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

  1. Oooweee, my dear! They look so good!! Mail me some. 🙂 Thanks for the wax paper idea. I hate greasing pans. Love you!

Leave a Reply

