Banana Peanut Butter Oatmeal Muffins

 I am always looking for new recipes to try.  A lot of those recipes, albeit, are dessert and breakfast items.  Guilty as charged!  Among all the different breakfast dishes I have made, muffins have and still rank as my favorite!  Muffins are easy and you can mix up what you put in them in order to make them either nutritious, snack material, fun, or any combination thereof!

Image

 

 Another great thing about muffins is that they are totally portable.  This awesome level of portability makes them great on-the-go breakfast food for days like my tomorrow, where I have to be somewhere in the wee hours of the morning.  This muffin recipe, which I found here, was neither hard to put together, nor time consuming.  I was able to make twenty muffins with one recipe, filling each muffin cup about 3/4 the way full.  The muffins came out light and very moist, and were a huge hit with the Natives and They-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.  

 Here are the ingredients you will need!

Image

  • 1 cup of flour (I used all-purpose flour)
  • 3/4 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (the creamy kind is what I used)
  • 1/2 cup of mashed banana
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Now, the original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of chopped strawberries, but I didn’t have any strawberries to chop!  So I just poured the majority of the batter without the strawberries, and made the last eight muffins with 1/3 cup of chocolate chips.  I also threw in 1/4 teaspoon of salt. 

 Begin by preheating your oven to 375 degrees F.  

In a medium sized bowl, combine 1 cup of flour, 3/4 cup of quick cooking oats,  1/3 cup of brown sugar (packed!), 1 tablespoon of baking powder, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt (if you so desire, the salt can be omitted).   Set aside. 

Image

In another medium sized bowl, combine 1 cup of milk (I used whole milk), 1/2 cup of peanut butter, 1/2 cup of mashed banana, 1 beaten egg, 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. 

Image

I mashed my banana with the back of a fork.  I also used only 1 and 1/3 of the two bananas pictured above.  I just gave the remaining part of the second banana to one of the Natives. 

Image

Whisk them all together!  🙂   There will be a bit of whisking in order to fully incorporate the peanut butter.  

Image

Now pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.  I wanted to be careful not to over-stir, so I began by folding the ingredients to combine them, then stirred a tiny bit at the end.

Image

Image

You will want to grease or line the muffins tins now, then pour your muffin batter in.  I didn’t have enough muffin batter to fill all twelve of the second muffin tin.  If you have the same problem, make sure to fill the empty muffin cups about halfway with water.  Into the oven they go!  

Image

Mine cooked for 15 minutes, but depending on your oven you may want to check them at 12 minutes and then increase the time they bake if they are not done.

Image

Image

 

Cheers!  🙂  

 

  

One thought on “Banana Peanut Butter Oatmeal Muffins

Leave a Reply

