Banana and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

 I haven’t blogged in almost two weeks.  Hey, I’ve been pretty busy!  Over this past weekend They-Who-Live-Far-Away came into town to visit me and my family!  It was a more than pleasant visit and I learned a lot.  Of course, it also stormed on Sunday, which blew in a lot of allergens.  Consequently, for the past several days I’ve felt like that bug that is squashed on your windshield.  However, today I’m starting to feel better and decided to make chocolate chip cookies!  

 Now, I’m a total sucker for eating raw oats.  They’re so delicious!  I mix a little water in, some cinnamon, and a serving of dried cranberries, then, in the famous words of Emeril Lagasse, “BAM!”. Instant breakfast!  I am also a sucker for chocolate chip cookies (especially raw!). So, when I came across a “clean” chocolate chip cookies recipe a few months back, I had to try it.  It was very similar to the recipe I am about to show you, except that the other one wanted me to chop up the oats into small pieces (which I blatantly ignored).  They came out delicious and were pretty nutritious (haha, see what I did there?).  Unfortunately, I lost the recipe!

 So this afternoon I found a blog called Don the Apron that had a similar recipe and gave it a go.  I am glad I did!    

Image

  What you’ll need to begin with:

  • 2 ripe bananas (Mine were as big as Ents so you may need three if your bananas are not as big.)
  • 3/4 to 1 cup oats (depending on the size of your bananas)

 As for add-ins, I used:

  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

 You could use other things such as raisins, craisins, M&M’s, pecans, walnuts, ect… it all depends on what you’d like.  🙂 

 Start off by preheating your oven to 350 degrees F.  

 Peel your bananas and mash them in a bowl.  I used the back of a large fork for this process. 

Image

 Next, add in your oats.  

Image

 Here come the add-ins!

Image

Image

 Now, since these are not your average cookies, they aren’t going to be roll-able in your hands.  You’ll need two spoons to kind of shape them into balls then drop them on your cookie sheet.  Now, the recipe says to put them on parchment paper, but I didn’t have any so I just sprayed the spots where I would drop my cookies on the sheet with non-stick spray.  On another note: you won’t have to worry about spacing the cookies too much because they won’t really spread.  Put them in the oven and bake for fifteen minutes! 

Image

The finished product: 

Image

Mmmm… nom nom time! 

 

Cheers! 

One thought on “Banana and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

